London Sketch Club

Key Information

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

London Sketch Club

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The London Sketch Club was founded on 1 April 1898 as a social club for artists working in the field of commercial graphic art, mainly for newspapers, periodicals and books. The founder members were Dudley Hardy, Phil May, Walter Fowler, Lance Thackeray, Cecil Aldin, W Sanders Fiske, Walter Churcher, Tom Browne and its first president George Charles Haité, Hon. Sec. Frederick Hamilton Jackson. Members of the Club have included John Hassall, H.M. Bateman, Salomon van Abbé, Terence Cuneo, Alfred Leete, and David Langdon.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Processing information



Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard