Series DC 004/5 - London Sketch Club Ephemera

Key Information

Reference code

DC 004/5


London Sketch Club Ephemera


  • 1902-1906 (Creation)

Level of description



11 items.

Content and Structure

Scope and content

Collection of various London Sketch Club invites.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

This material has been appraised in line with Glasgow School of Art Archives and Collections standard procedures.


System of arrangement

General Information

Name of creator


Administrative history

The London Sketch Club was founded on 1 April 1898 as a social club for artists working in the field of commercial graphic art, mainly for newspapers, periodicals and books. The founder members were Dudley Hardy, Phil May, Walter Fowler, Lance Thackeray, Cecil Aldin, W Sanders Fiske, Walter Churcher, Tom Browne and its first president George Charles Haité, Hon. Sec. Frederick Hamilton Jackson. Members of the Club have included John Hassall, H.M. Bateman, Salomon van Abbé, Terence Cuneo, Alfred Leete, and David Langdon.

Archival history

Custodial history

Physical Description and Conditions of Use

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical Description

Finding aids

Related Material

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related materials

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)



Place access points

People and Organisations

Genre access points

Administrative Information

Description identifier

GB 1694 DC 004/5

Institution identifier

GB 1694

Rules and/or conventions used

ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description - Second edition


Level of detail

Processing information




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organisations

Related genres

Related places